Prince Edward County

Featured Services

Quick Links

Annual Reports

Sheriff's Office

 

Sheriff
Wesley W. Reed
sheriff@co.prince-edward.va.us

Location
124 N. Main Street, 2nd Floor
Farmville, VA 23901
434-392-8101
434-392-6730 (fax)
 
For emergencies please dial 911
 
Mailing Address
Sheriff
PO Box 25
Farmville, VA 23901
   
Office Hours
9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. M-F
24-hour Calls for Service
   
   
     
Email Addresses
Major David Wilmoth
dwilmoth@co.prince-edward.va.us
Captain James Farley
jfarley@co.prince-edward.va.us
Lt. Richard Hurak
rhurak@co.prince-edward.va.us
Lt. Sonya M. Walker
smwalker@co.prince-edward.va.us
Lt. Robert Goldman
rgoldman@co.prince-edward.va.us
Lt. Joseph Sprague
jsprague@co.prince-edward.va.us
Sgt. Robert Franklin
rfranklin@co.prince-edward.va.us
Sgt. Steve Wallace
swallace@co.prince-edward.va.us
Sgt. Howard Estes
hestes@co.prince-edward.va.us
Administrative Secretary
lsimmons@co.prince-edward.va.us

 

Wesley W. Reed is a native of Prince Edward County. He is a graduate of Prince Edward County High School. Sheriff Reed received his law enforcement certification from the Central Virginia Criminal Justice Academy and has over 27 years of law enforcement experience. His career as a law enforcement officer is representative of 23 years as an investigator and 12 years as Chief Deputy of the Prince Edward County Sheriff's Office.

Sheriff Reed's primary goal is the safety of the County's citizens, its visitors, as well as his deputies. His expectations for his employees are to ensure that they keep up with changing law enforcement techniques and to always provide them with updated equipment. Sheriff Reed is a fair an impartial man who expects no less from the deputies that serve under his administration as Sheriff of Prince Edward County. Sheriff Reed believes in modernization and is working towards instituting change in several areas within the department as well as incorporating mutual agreement with other agencies, all to serve the community more effectively.

Sheriff Reed is continuing with the State Accreditation Process for the Prince Edward County Sheriff's Office. This State Accreditation often takes many years for a department or office to obtain and is even harder work to maintain. Sheriff Reed's goals for accreditation are to work diligently towards it, make precise changes as needed, develop proficiently sound policies and procedures, and to achieve the highly prized VLEPSC accreditation award within the near future.